My partner conceded the first of the opponents putts (from <1 inch), but the opponent then proceeded to tap in (successfully). His tap in did not provide any advantage to his partner waiting to putt (who could have only equalled the score) given that it was one inch. Our team still had a putt to halve the hole.
We discussed whether we could in fact claim the hole. Could we claim the hole as we could claim that he had a practice shot whilst the hole was still live?
I'm certain had the putt provided an advantage to his partner then we could have claimed (although his partner could have only equalled the score which would be limited advantage).
What is the exact rule in this situation?
PS Sportsmanship prevailed - we did not proceed with our claim but missed the putt for a half.